IMG_4348.jpgIMG_4353.jpgSo, as you might have guessed, the filming for the short film is now over. Everything else is left in the hands of the editing room.

Honestly, this film has been so full of surprises and events, I really don’t want to let it go. Starting from the making of the screenplay, to the location scouting, to the auditions for the actors, to the first long day of filming.  But we all have to move on at some point. (Thank God we still have to edit this thing. That gives me some more time with it.)

Anyway, I am writing about the last day of filming. Yesterday to be exact. Holy cow what a day. It all started with me getting little to no sleep the previous night, and having to wake up early to get ready. I was first stopping at the local library to have some time to myself. This is where I get most of my writing ideas, and can do research on them at the same time. It was a really nice time of working on this long term screenplay project.

After that we I went to the grocery store. I was looking for that movie called the visit. I still haven’t seen it, and I couldn’t find it in the store. Really weird, because I always see it there. But I finished my shopping and then went back to the movie section. I found the old movie IT for only five dollars. I would have boughten in, but for some reason I just didn’t feel like it.

So, now we go onto the filming. It was rather a long stretch. We all got their a little late, but in the end we got the final shots. We had to film it at the Mississippi river near the memphis bridge during magic hour (That means during the sunset). Who knew so many people like to go to the park on the Thursday. But int the end, it all worked out, and the shots looked amazing.

After we finished, we were able to get some extra pictures for our Facebook page. Honestly it was the perfect day.

That is when it happened. Now, I can’t seem to remember some of the parts, so I had to ask my 1st AD to help me fill in the blanks, which I was riding in the car with. It was just the two of us, he was driving. I remember that I saw the sunset out the window, and I decided to record it. So I rolled down the window, and filmed it with my phone. I was trying to collect some extra footage.

The next thing I knew we were turning into a gas station. I was told that their was about a five minute gap in that time. So I will fill in with what my 1st AD told me.

Apparently after about five or more minutes, the GPS told him that we needed to turn around and go the opposite direction. So he got to the first gas station, and pulled in. Only, as we cut across the road to pull in, another car was coming out of the gas station. Apparently it blocked the way in, and he had to brake.

Now, this is where I can remember. I felt the car stop, and I looked out the window to my left. Thats when I saw a car coming at me. I think it had a black hood, where as the rest of it was a different color. I looked at my 1st AD, and said something along the lines of, “Hey, Look Out!” But instead I was later told that all I sad was, “OH” followed by a four letter word. But that is just a matter of opinion.

That was when I felt something hit the car, and I saw and airbag go off. The next thing I knew was that my 1st AD was grabbing me, screaming, “Are you OK???” I told him I was, then he fell back in his seat, and started screaming. He was calling to the people across the street for help. They came over, and called 911. A guy, who seemed to know what he was doing told us to stay still. (Very wise information. We couldn’t tell if something was broken so if we started moving around…)

But I heard someone say that there looked like their as a gas leak. So, I panicked and opened the door, and fell out of the car. I did notice that my window was cracked all the way through. Right after I fell out, I sprang to my feet, and felt my leg hurt. The guy who called 911 ran over to me and told me to stop moving. I sat down on the side walk, and watched as people started asking me questions. Stuff like, what was my name, who was my friend, etc. I guess it took some time for everything to get sorted, because it was now dark by the time they put my 1st AD in an ambulance and drove him away. I was left to talk to the fire men and cops. I told them about the film and they tried to make jokes to make me feel better. I was finally able to call me father to come and get me. I didn’t have anyone else to come, and this was my first time doing something like this. The cops seemed mad that I didn’t just get into an ambulance, but I was very happy that I waited on someone that I could trust. Honestly, I felt like I was that kid who goes to preschool for the first time. You know, how you just feel alone and you just don’t know what to do. yeah that was me. All of my friends where gone, and I had to just act like I knew what I was doing.

My dad drove my to the emergency room, and they ended up having to stitch up a cut on my leg. I also had banged up my shin, and this two things combined with the doctors rubbing disinfectant stuff on it made for a fun and painful time. But the worst of it was the fact that I am rather squeamish when it comes to these types of things. So yeah. We got home around 2 A.M. and I hopped to my bed. I fell asleep pretty quickly, and only woke up once when I rolled over on my leg, and remembered that I shouldn’t do that or it might hurt. It did.

I later learned that my 1st AD had stitches on his leg too, only he has a broken collar bone! I really hope he has an easy recovery. The next day (today) was spent watching old episodes of Frasier, and figuring out what had happened in the parts that I couldn’t remember (There were a few of them. At one point I had told my dad that the other driver was drunk. He wasn’t and I didn’t remember telling him that.)

But one thing I do know is that it will be one week before I get the stitches out. So I challenged my 1st AD, telling him that I was going to try to write this whole first draft of the screen play in that time. I don’t know if I can, but I will try. Hope it turns out good. But it might just be a reck.

